← Go Back

2018 Founders Award: Bruce Robertson

Bruce Robertson

It is our honour to announce that long-time Big Brothers Big Sisters (BBBS) supporter and mentoring champion, Bruce Robertson, has been named as the recipient of the 2018 BBBS Founders Award.

The Founders Award was created to honour those individuals who have made significant and transformational contributions to the development and reach of child and youth mentoring in Calgary and Area through BBBS. The Founders group is made up of all past recipients of this award as well as the individuals involved with the formation of Uncles at Large, the organization that built the foundation of BBBS Calgary and Area.

Bruce first became involved with BBBS in 2008, and since then he has been a committed donor, volunteer, past mentor, and a passionate ambassador for mentoring.

“I have seen first-hand how mentoring can change a child’s life for the better,” says Bruce. “I saw the profound impact it had on my mentee and it also had a huge impact on my own life. Being a Big Brother made me a better father and a better person.”

Whether he is making personal contributions of time and money, advocating for support in the community, lending the support of his network, or providing invaluable advice and guidance, Bruce has made an indelible mark on BBBS.

Bruce was one of the founders of Fight for Kids, a successful event that ran from 2010 to 2015 in support of BBBS. Under Bruce’s leadership, this event raised significant funds while also increasing public awareness for the work of BBBS and the impact of mentoring. Bruce was also a dedicated supporter of All-Star Weekend, helping to ensure its growth and success year after year.

Bruce is a champion in every sense of the word. He is generous of his time, energy, resources and connections, all of which have greatly influenced BBBS’ ability to make an impact in our community.

It’s because of all of these contributions that Big Brothers Big Sisters is proud to welcome Bruce Robertson as its newest Founder, and present him with our 2018 Founders Award.